Tom and Jerry - Movie Review

Feb 26, 2021
604 027 Views

Head to www.squarespace.com/chrisstuckmann to save 10% off your first purchase of a website or domain using code chrisstuckmann. Thanks to Squarespace for sponsoring.

Chris Stuckmann reviews Tom and Jerry, starring Chloë Grace Moretz, Michael Peña, Colin Jost, Pallavi Sharda, Rob Delaney, Patsy Ferran, Ken Jeong. Directed by Tim Story.

Comments
  • Right on review. It was horrible

    Nita SaultNita Sault2 days ago
    • I liked it

      Mr. AshtasticMr. Ashtastic22 hours ago
  • This movie made me sad

    Audrey SeyboldAudrey Seybold2 days ago
  • Nearly a decade after the Smurfs was released, and still nobody have learned their lesson yet

    Eren JaegerEren Jaeger4 days ago
    • @Mr. Ashtastic whoops typo

      Eren JaegerEren Jaeger21 hour ago
    • Learned

      Mr. AshtasticMr. Ashtastic22 hours ago
  • One word- RUINED

    Greg WoodardGreg Woodard5 days ago
  • After disagreeing with 2 of your reviews I was really curious to see if you would say this movie was good even though it wasn't, luckily you came through and was honest ...F is a little harsh but at the same time ....yea lmao can't disagree with anything that was said however I give the animators an A+ like someone said they did the most work and got paid the less and shouldnt be grouped together with this failure it wasn't there fault or job to make the script

    O RO R6 days ago
  • 'These birds routinely remind us of what is going on with the plot--I'm not exaggerating.' - Chris was exaggerating. The birds only show up twice and both are shown in the review above. Once at the beginning to set the plot and once in the middle when there is a transition to explain why suddenly we are at a wedding.

    Mike EMike E6 days ago
  • i thought it was a good movie i'm 21. i grew up watching it too. it wasnt that bad. could you write a better script?

    Tiffany SkinnerTiffany Skinner8 days ago
  • I fell asleep watching it, that's how boring it is

    PogchampPogchamp8 days ago
  • Tried to watch this but had to turn it off after half hour.. so so boring

    LydgendaryLydgendary8 days ago
  • people were employed and got paid is the best compliment this movie can get.

    xCAMLxxCAMLx8 days ago
  • FINALLY SOMEONE SAID IT! MODERN SNL HUMOUR SUCKS

    Godless PlaytimeGodless Playtime8 days ago
  • All they had to do was get them to beat the shit out of each other for 90 minutes in fun and creative ways that would make you laugh, or at least that's why I watched it.

    penguin slider573penguin slider5739 days ago
  • The fact that they tried to give this movie an adult plot is fucking enraging, the whole point of Tom and jerry is the simplicity in the havoc they make, no fucking need for a “real plot”

    Richard HernandezRichard Hernandez9 days ago
  • Huge Turd

    Anthony GentileAnthony Gentile11 days ago
  • It was a crappy cash grab. Cinema is dead!

    Shobesen WorksShobesen Works11 days ago
  • Me reads title: Me after 3 minutes: Chris hates it

    PapaNuggetsPapaNuggets11 days ago
  • didn't know it was coming or came out

    starskie96ytstarskie96yt11 days ago
  • They should do the Sonic style CGI instead of cartoon

    Sexy MongrelSexy Mongrel13 days ago
  • I’ll never understand how an actresses/actor of the stature of Chloe accepts to work in movies like this.

    GzamoGzamo13 days ago
  • Fire shirt bro

    Jeremy JJJeremy JJ14 days ago
  • your channel was recommended on a website. so this is the first review i watched on your channel. totally disagree with almost everything you said in your review. i loved this movie and you gave it an F!? i dont want criticism of what goes on behind the scenes, i only want good front-end. i certainly dont care about philosophical ramblings about "kids' well-being". i dont care if other movies follow a similar formula. the problem with most critics is that they are too concerned with HOW the film was made rather than the end product and thats understandable because they know the work done behind-the-scenes. guess i wont be following your channel.

    Eddy coOl- samaEddy coOl- sama14 days ago
    • @Eddy coOl- sama but that's the entire point of being a movie critics, they watch a movie and they form their own thoughts on it, it isn't about what you think about the movie because critics can hardly give two shits on what your opinion is on the because it's what you think about the movie, and not everyone is going to share the same thoughts as yours. And what the hell are you even on about, last time I checked this hardly ever said anything about the behind the scenes crap just the actual quality of the movie and how it questions audiences intelligence

      Blue MantaBlue Manta10 days ago
    • @Blue Manta I already know that! that's why i rarely take critics' advice. but there lies the problem, they shouldn't be recommending movies if they are unwilling to put themselves in the average movie-goer's shoes who is only concerned with the front-end product. behind-the-scene and technical analysis is the realm of award shows like oscars etc. and it should remain their realm only. this thing is the reason that we often see movies bashed by critics, only gain a huge cult-following later. there's really no human recommendations out there that solely give advice based on front-end product.

      Eddy coOl- samaEddy coOl- sama10 days ago
    • Uh, hate to break it to ya but that's not exactly how criticism and opinions work

      Blue MantaBlue Manta10 days ago
  • My 7 year old LOVES theTom And Jerry movie, he’s seen it several times. So the movie is brilliant. My son is the target audience. I saw it with him, and wife and older kids and we loved it. We had a good time. THAT is a successful movie. What a USworldsr says, good or bad, it doesn’t matter.

    arthurcurry2003arthurcurry200315 days ago
  • I appreciate they tried to go old school with the animation. But it REALLY doesn’t fit. Now if they had an excuse like Rodger Rabbit with Toons living with Humans. That’d explain it. But nah, they’re just in that animated style for nostalgia.

    Craig Robert McDowallCraig Robert McDowall15 days ago
    • I mean, they look like they belong in a video game.

      Craig Robert McDowallCraig Robert McDowall15 days ago
  • Who's still using cartoons in films in 2021? 25 years after Toy Story?

    L WL W15 days ago
  • At least this Smurfs could talk so it was at least better than two creatures that can't talk doing small skits like who thought this was a good idea

    Making something from nothingMaking something from nothing16 days ago
    • @Blue Manta I'm saying for a full length movie at least the Smurfs could actually interact and you can make a movie about them that's 2 hours long but Tom and Jerry's was made for TV and was about the physical comedy and not really enough substance to hold on for 2 hours because it was perfect where it was not trying to make films of it unless you change the characters

      Making something from nothingMaking something from nothing10 days ago
    • Tom and Jerry talking isn't really the point of Tom and Jerry, it was all just about physical comedy rather than verbal comedy, which this movie completely missed

      Blue MantaBlue Manta10 days ago
  • the woman who plays that bell girl is terrifying weird looking

    MetalCrashMetalCrash17 days ago
  • You should review Netflix’s The Dig.

    Glamrock FreddyGlamrock Freddy17 days ago
  • Dude I couldn’t finish this movie in one seating. My fiancé and I said we would watch Snyder cut in two days. We flew through most of the Snyder cut in 1 night and had to pull ourselves away from the tv to get some sleep. Our daughter and I watched this crap and barely could get past the first 20mins and had to turn it off watch Static Shock and went to sleep. Finished it Sunday again I had to watch it because we started it Saturday. It was a chori to watch

    The This Guy Experience!!!The This Guy Experience!!!17 days ago
  • I said when will Hollywood finally get FaceTime right

    The This Guy Experience!!!The This Guy Experience!!!17 days ago
  • Really an F. Oh gee , what a surprise!!!

    Mark EichlerMark Eichler17 days ago
  • If this movie failed a bit like The Smurfs and Yogi Bear, i pray to God that the Live Action movie of Wallace & Gromit doesn't make a big mess to the characters or story.

    Santiago 5to 2da FrancoSantiago 5to 2da Franco17 days ago
    • @Santiago 5to 2da Franco Ah, ok.

      Big HandBig Hand9 hours ago
    • @Big Hand No. It was just my supposition.

      Santiago 5to 2da FrancoSantiago 5to 2da Franco9 hours ago
    • A live action Wallace and Gromit is in the works?

      Big HandBig Hand9 hours ago
  • Yeah it would be really difficult for me to care about any of these people.

    Jonas KingJonas King18 days ago
  • Your use of profanity shows your lack of knowledge of the English language.

    Charles WindCharles Wind18 days ago
  • They should have taken the Sonic route or at least Angry Birds

    Maniac BobManiac Bob18 days ago
  • I don't know who paid you to give this review, but Tom and Jerry had a lot more screen time then mentioned.

    mykryosmykryos18 days ago
    • And I don't know who paid you to write that rubbish but Tom and Jerry were like side characters rather than serving purpose to the actual plot

      Blue MantaBlue Manta10 days ago
  • This looks like the ultimate click bait movie. Glad I have the classic cartoons.

    Mark CharlesMark Charles19 days ago
  • 7:11 As well as the animation, voice acting and is the mainstream comeback of Tom and Jerry.

    LooneyCartoonMan2003LooneyCartoonMan200319 days ago
  • 6:08 But The Smurfs (which is produced by Sony Pictures Animation) was based on a series of comics made in Belgium that is in English for "Les Schtroumpfs" (Like The Adventures of Tintin), while Tom & Jerry is the newest live-action movie based on a cartoon and produced by the Warner Animation Group.

    LooneyCartoonMan2003LooneyCartoonMan200319 days ago
  • 1:13 This was just a series of animated short films that were released in theaters worldwide between 1940 and 1967 by MGM.

    LooneyCartoonMan2003LooneyCartoonMan200319 days ago
  • Hollywood stopped caring about kids years ago.

    Ayara 81Ayara 8119 days ago
  • You guys missed the message in this film( love , fun , and a moral lesson in the end) stop being salty. Because you too can’t even do good on your USworlds video editing but you dare criticise this film..

    VinezVinez19 days ago
  • 😂😂😂😂

    Adventure With Eric CochranAdventure With Eric Cochran19 days ago
  • As a 90s kid I was hoping this was going to be at least an okay movie to laugh at but I guess not.

    Jason McJason Mc20 days ago
  • i think the movie is amazing and even if it has some bad scenes remeber this movie was made in 2021 and it has a good message at the end and it takes alot of money to animate some parts btw this is my opinion s you might have a diffrent one

    classic guess productionsclassic guess productions20 days ago
    • @Blue Manta yeah now that i think about it you are right about the friendship part since tom and jerry never became friends again in the movie

      classic guess productionsclassic guess productions10 days ago
    • @classic guess productions telling the truth, maybe but at the same time not really, but friendship? Nah

      Blue MantaBlue Manta10 days ago
    • @Blue Manta it was friend ship and tell the truth i think

      classic guess productionsclassic guess productions10 days ago
    • What exactly was the message may I ask?

      Blue MantaBlue Manta10 days ago
  • i think sonic is better because that is a REAL kids movie not the cartoon be quiet the whole movie.

    Crystal ShareeCrystal Sharee20 days ago
  • i did not watch it but if they teach kids how to lie that is not okay and i think that the trailer was not cool at all for 1 sec.

    Crystal ShareeCrystal Sharee20 days ago
  • 0:33 It is the first live-action movie adaptation of a cartoon that got released in the 2020 decade with the last being released in the 2010 decade is Dora and the Lost City of Gold (based on a modern cartoon).

    LooneyCartoonMan2003LooneyCartoonMan200320 days ago
  • Having seen the trailer several times and being bored just by the trailer, I don't think I'll be watching this movie.

    karen hallkaren hall21 day ago
  • This wasnt even worth reviewing

    Drew FleetDrew Fleet21 day ago
  • Mann in my opinion I think this was a solid movie. Fun overall to watch, sure it’s not a great movie but it was a nostalgia trip. There were subtle references to past Tom an jerry bits from iconic episodes and movies. Good handful of cast that didn’t over do the acting. Animation was smooth and effects that went along with the chaos scenes helped with the tone. Plus the Editing was awesome with the pacing going on just enough so you wouldn’t feel tired of watching. Only negative I would say was some characters not having an arch in the movie. You can cut a few out and the short storyline would still go on. The movie really isn’t about a story just for pure spirited kids to enjoy.

    David MoralesDavid Morales21 day ago
  • it's a movie for children. im 100% sure they're gonna love this movie just like how we loved cliche cartoon movies back then

    updraft heavenupdraft heaven22 days ago
  • I really didn’t like that Chloe girl

    Jason ArvizuJason Arvizu22 days ago
  • I didn't hate it

    WynndoggWynndogg23 days ago
  • I used to watch Looney Tunes,Tom and Jerry,Animaniacs, Tiny Toon Adventure, Captain Planet,Freakazoid And Ozzy And Drix as a kid and they were my Childhood! Thought it was Ok!

    Michael BrentMichael Brent23 days ago
  • The problem is nobody can hand animate the shit like they use to and when you spend that much time drawing you spend an equal amount of time making sure it’s actually good beforehand.

    Derick DoveDerick Dove23 days ago
  • The animation for Tom and jerry and the uses of animation from classic original are ok but the rest, from story, characters all the way to soundtrack are all totally not compatible with this cartoon.

    Rohan AmorRohan Amor23 days ago
  • She was terribly annoying.. And she's a bollocks actress.. the music was terrible. Plot was bollocks.

    Isiah O'MerreighnIsiah O'Merreighn23 days ago
  • “Struggling” implies that they tried. They didn’t try.

    Dan The Movie ManDan The Movie Man24 days ago
  • Given their Tom and Jerry's thing. I think they did an alright job. And I didn't like the smurfs at either. What can we even expect from them a heart warming story ?. Slap stick comedy? I don't think what ever they do with this IP is going to fail in the general public's eyes. I just accept it as it comes didn't have high expectations had a few giggles and recommend it to a family or two that's it. Sure there was tons to improve on it but, we got a start let's hope it's only up from here.

    RoshillRoshill24 days ago
  • I thought it was hilarious when they were advertising apple products. Like hbo max and warner brothers are literally advertising for apple, who has their own streaming service. They’re advertising for their streaming service competitors😂

    Andrew KerAndrew Ker24 days ago
  • I feel like they shouldve given Tom & Jerry a more real life look like how they did the chipmunk movies.

    Melancholic WallflowerMelancholic Wallflower24 days ago
  • The female lead actress is lying & sneakin' to get the job... and thats alright?... a few minutes later they make a statement about gender nutral stuff... hmmm.. and that prince actor has no charisma

    Michel MandersMichel Manders24 days ago
  • One of the guys there looks like he's trying too hard to look like john cleese.

    bilbebopbilbebop24 days ago
  • They don't care about kids anymore never!! They just wanna sell but lucky me i didn't watch it because i know how trash it's just by watching the trailer

    Andro CyberAndro Cyber24 days ago
  • Lol

    beennamedIcybeennamedIcy25 days ago
  • So all the animals in that universe are toons?

    ChilianaJonesChilianaJones25 days ago
  • Movie was lame, just like the girl I took to go see it with.

    j 7j 725 days ago
  • NOBODY movie review

    epicgamerepicgamer25 days ago
  • Love your t-shirt!

    NICK A LOPEZ-NIEVESNICK A LOPEZ-NIEVES26 days ago
  • Audience score on RT is at an 81%. People are such dumbasses.

    expetriatexpetriat26 days ago
  • Dog shit movie

    thebionicledudethebionicledude26 days ago
  • I haven't watched it but hearing this review... it's bad Shame I was actually happy it was coming I mean I got the old movie with Robin that one was great

    Ark_0 _BatArk_0 _Bat26 days ago
  • I cant believe yall actually like this dumbass cartoon...i always hated tom & jerry since i was a kid smh

    Blessed DemonBlessed Demon26 days ago
  • I turned it off after 15 minutes. Got boring

    Zhanknight_777Zhanknight_77727 days ago
  • So you’re saying the simpsons movie takes place in New York City?

    Mr. AshtasticMr. Ashtastic27 days ago
  • These types of movies seem like a laundering thing. He should do reviews of movies that were known to be money laundering schemes.

    toast mcgeetoast mcgee27 days ago
  • The characters of Tom and Jerry will still be in out hearts for ever❤️❤️❤️❤️

    N NN N27 days ago
  • *banging pots and pans* CHLOË GRACE MORETZ IS NOT A GOOD ACTRESS

    Koda WolfKoda Wolf27 days ago
  • Good thing i didn't watch the movie.

    YumiYunaYumiYuna27 days ago
  • Pro corporate/capitalistic undertones being taught to kids maybe?

    Amber SimmsAmber Simms27 days ago
  • I liked it Cuz the first scene with chloe i laughed my ass off

    Jashan gamingJashan gaming27 days ago
  • My only question is: Why does every new animated movie have to include "the floss" dance?

    Obiki ProjectsObiki Projects27 days ago
  • I feel bad for kids these days if this is what is being made for children present year.

    magnuslordmagnuslord27 days ago
  • The only thing worth watching in this film is Chloe's legs.

    Ph@tMantvPh@tMantv28 days ago
  • The dark hair girl looks like a Mr. Bean deepfake

    Michael FordMichael Ford28 days ago
  • Has he done a “Goonies” review? I watched it about a year ago and it was pretty stupid and not what I remember as a kid. 😂

    William vazquezWilliam vazquez28 days ago
  • This movie made me want to punch faces... like everyone. Men, women, children, old folks, their dog etc... It was so punishingly bad. From the constant need to remind us that it's soooooo hip and happenin and so very 2021 with product placements, fads of the week, and social media garbage, to the reason why Tom and Jerry were chasing each other ON TOP of everything you said... like, when you find out that Jerry is a gigantic dickhead antagonist, it stops being funny. Did we really need a reason? Cat vs. Mouse, it's nature, nuff said. I gave up the moment Tom started singing in auto-tune at a piano like some John Legend reject. The music in it was cringe, somehow they thought Tom and Jerry needed hip hop, pop, radio fluff to be all swagilicious for the tik tok generation. Like, congrats you dated your film that will become out of style and irrelevant in like a year. If it was any more dated, they woulda added fidget spinners to the mix.... They had Tom do the floss dance.... THE FUCKING FLOSS!! The movie is top to bottom ASS.

    Jesse MooreJesse Moore28 days ago
  • Roger rabbit still the best

    zohar wolfzohar wolf28 days ago
  • Wtf is up with the film industry

    Tattoo QuinTattoo Quin28 days ago
  • This movie is pure 💩

    SAMURAISAMURAI28 days ago
  • Hate it all you want everybody I think this movie is pretty good and yes, I CAN see why people don't like it but for me this movie was a blast of a good time Its not amazing no no it's far from being amazing it's just another charming and sweet movie based on childhood cartoons On a 1 to ten scale it's like somewhere.....hmmmm you know what SCREW it- 7.4/10 The only bad thing about this movie is thicc Jerry DAMM BOI HE THICC-

    Rose RobertsRose Roberts28 days ago
  • Thought you’d rickroll us and do Justice League instead Because that’s the movie people saw when they clicked to see T&J

    Steffan BlancoSteffan Blanco29 days ago
  • This movie feels so awkward.

    zZiL341yRj736zZiL341yRj73629 days ago
  • When I heard people say they are glad this movie is doing successful while Raya and the Last Dragon is failing at the box office, it makes me sick to my stomach as it shows they are far too biased against Disney to see real art created by talented animators, writers and directors. Raya and the Last Dragon is a masterpiece and deserves to succeed in such a way as it has a unique look you cannot replicate in any film. Tom and Jerry 2021 is a cynically lazy cash grab from money hungry suits that it makes the 1993 film look like The Iron Giant and Soul combined, I knew this film was going to be bad from the first trailer alone. I have a major grudge towards society for not recognising art when it's so very well made and had so many months worth of effort put in the work films like Kubo and the Two Strings, Zootopia, Raya and the Last Dragon, The Iron Giant, The Secret of NIMH, Inside Out, In This Corner of the World and Klaus has amongst so many amazing movies that just happened to be animated then lumping all animation as a 'genre' that ticks me off to my very core. And this is coming from a huge fan of the classic Hannah Barbara cartoon shorts of the iconic cat and mouse duo, because their comedy was spot on with focus, pacing, editing, comedic animation, timing and characterisation. It was purely solid gold. I kindly of hate how we are still living in a society where cashgrab nostalgia makes money far more than beautiful works of filmmaking art, whether animation or love action.

    Ashbasher22 NERDAshbasher22 NERD29 days ago
  • I saw the trailer and knew from the get go that this was going to be fucking terrible.

    asmronly24asmronly2429 days ago
  • Yes!!!! I was waiting for your review on this !!!

    Noob F2P FgoNoob F2P Fgo29 days ago
  • I don't know why Hollywood makes these live-action/animation hybrid movies. They never work. They should have made an animated film instead. You can totally make serviceable Tom and Jerry movie. Tom and Jerry: Blast Off to Mars and Tom and Jerry: The Fast and the Furry are direct-to-video, low budget films, yet they are extremely entertaining.

    Jayanth KumarJayanth Kumar29 days ago
  • I love your videos!

    Neraly AlyNeraly Aly29 days ago
  • 1:42 played by Tim Story himself

    MrFlipperInvader792MrFlipperInvader79229 days ago
  • Check out my reviews of: Palmer Sound of Metal The Little Things

    Lincoln's Latest FlicksLincoln's Latest FlicksMonth ago
USworlds