iPhone 12 and 12 Pro review: Simply outstanding

Oct 20, 2020
440 054 Views

We got our hands on the new iPhone 12 and iPhone 12 Pro. The phones are even more similar to each other than last year's iPhone 11 and 11 Pro. But that's not necessarily a bad thing. We spent five days testing the new cameras, 5G connectivity and, of course, MagSafe.
Watch our unboxing of the iPhone 12 and 12 Pro: usworlds.info/slow/video/l4Bmb2rahYmdrYs
You can buy iPhone 12 and iPhone 12 Pro here...
iPhone 12:
Apple: apple.co/316ybws
iPhone 12 Pro:
Apple: apple.co/33VKHkc
*CNET may get a commission from these offers.
Subscribe to CNET: usworlds.info
CNET playlists: usworlds.info/playlists
Download the new CNET app: cnet.app.link/GWuXq8ExzG
Like us on Facebook: facebook.com/cnet
Follow us on Twitter: twitter.com/cnet
Follow us on Instagram: bit.ly/2icCYYm

Comments
  • So... 12 or 12 Pro?

    CNETCNETMonth ago
    • I have an iPad Pro and a MacBook Pro, to complete my Pro list, iPhone 12 Pro.

      JingJingJingJingMonth ago
    • 12 pro for sure..upgrading in December :D

      William HaubergerWilliam HaubergerMonth ago
    • If I could afford it, iPhone 12 Pro :)

      Alex MillerAlex MillerMonth ago
    • @audio lover I just setup my pro. Typing from it, And to be honest it’s kinda heavy . The extra makes a difference. I wish I bought 12

      Lex LugerLex LugerMonth ago
    • 12 Pro upgrading from IPhone X

      audio loveraudio loverMonth ago
  • please clean the iphone before reivew

    thisislaifu / 인생삼아thisislaifu / 인생삼아11 days ago
  • I upgraded this year from iPhone X 256GB Space Gray to iPhone 12 Pro 512GB Pacific Blue

    Jack ManningJack Manning13 days ago
  • sexy

    jh82pljh82pl18 days ago
  • That is so col

    amalia santoyoamalia santoyo19 days ago
  • Just got the 12pro, upgraded from a 7plus

    Pickle RickPickle Rick20 days ago
  • Thanks for sharing I’m still trying to figure out which one I want to get

    Lil rocfamilyLil rocfamily21 day ago
  • How is selfie quality with the iphone 12? Is it as good as HuaWei P40 Pro Plus?

    Grateful Princess of GodGrateful Princess of God29 days ago
  • after living with an iPhone 6 since forever i finally upgraded to an iPhone 12 Pro!

    oEZ7oEZ729 days ago
  • Where is the 120hz screen?!? Glad I got a Samsung Fold 2 now, as a previous iPhone boy

    Welcome CreatorWelcome Creator29 days ago
  • Going out on a limb, I'll bet the iPhone 13 will be the most fantastic iPhone ever.... At this point, I think it will come with a professional photographer to take the pictures for you. The tech reviewers going on about the "feel" of the phone. If you get a free review model to use, great, but most people slap a case on their $1000+ phone that they actually, you know, pay for.

    A. E. F.A. E. F.Month ago
  • No disrespect, there's nothing special about this particular iphone 😂🤣

    Brett ThomasBrett ThomasMonth ago
  • As JB says. "Come on Man" "Come on"

    Sam OliverSam OliverMonth ago
  • Let's get rid of the Notch.

    Sam OliverSam OliverMonth ago
  • I beg to disagree with you. I love my iphone 7. Even though I had to replace the Battery 2 times now. The Battery both times swelled up like a bubble, ready to Blow. Had it fixed at Dealership the first time. The second time it was out of Warranty. Both times I Paid for the Repair. I would hope the new IPhone Pro I ordered has a better Fate. I do not like the Notch in the phone screen. Other suppliers have eliminated it. I thought the New Iphone 12's would have eliminated that by now. Really disappointed in that. Oh, Thanks for the information on the 12's hope mine arrives soon...

    Sam OliverSam OliverMonth ago
  • why does this video have so many dislikes?

    Akshat KembhaviAkshat KembhaviMonth ago
  • Like the video. But whats with the dust and dirt all over the phone?

    etcetcMonth ago
  • Let’s see I’ve got an iPhone 6s Plus from 2014 i’m thinking iPhone 12 pro max all the way. 👍👊😎

    Market ShareMarket ShareMonth ago
  • In UK cost 1600£, because we are more stupid and we buy it for double the price.

    Dorin TosaDorin TosaMonth ago
  • Y’all in these comments mad because someone has an opinion? Y’all really want people to hate a phone, but if it works for them then it works for them. Not everyone wants an android phone, not everyone wants an iPhone. Y’all really weird to the point it’s like toxic... well, y’all been toxic tbh 😬🥴

    DinoMight StudiosDinoMight StudiosMonth ago
  • Woww just got my iPhone 12 pro and some other Apple product through alvinshyper40 on 1G . I wasn't expecting it to work but it did so amazing contact him now to get yours

    Vanessa NigleyVanessa NigleyMonth ago
  • Just got the iPhone 12 pro!

    Alpha_FrankAlpha_FrankMonth ago
  • OMG, this guy doesn't know how to compare phones. He didn't even compare Photos from 12 vs 12 pro (with the Lidar). I feel sorry for Cnet for hiring him. Simply disappointed b/c Lens/Lidar is the only different which he skipped it.

    Edison NgEdison NgMonth ago
  • 9:48 those lens reflections in the tree are really killing it for me... :/

    WakyEggsBacyWakyEggsBacyMonth ago
  • Does anyone know the width of the iPhone 12 screen? Not the phone. Just the screen.

    XgamerdaveXXgamerdaveXMonth ago
  • Moving on from my pixel 3xl to apple iphone 12

    Rustan CraneRustan CraneMonth ago
  • Again on this review, if you see the night mode video on the iPhone 12 Pro is dissapointing 9:31 as it shows very large balls of white around every source of light, hopefully Apple is going to release a firmware for this issue.

    Gabriel HernandezGabriel HernandezMonth ago
  • Is 5G only in Chicago. Im with Verizon and i never had a 5G area and I travel a lot to many States.

    Wayne BrooksWayne BrooksMonth ago
  • What’s with the useless charger cord without a cube?

    seworthseworthMonth ago
  • Ordered the pro in blue yesterday, have to wait 2 weeks for stock :(

    Jordan HallJordan HallMonth ago
  • What is that stand model from 2:57

    theGreystheGreysMonth ago
  • I want to buy this phone but I can't get over the fact that the screen is 1080p. I have a galaxy s10+ & the screen is 1440p. Why would I downgrade? Oh and the in-screen fingerprint sensor...

    R SmithR SmithMonth ago
  • Does the iPhone 12 Pro Max have the same speaker as the iPhone 11 Pro Max?

    Brayden HarperBrayden HarperMonth ago
  • When will iPhone 12 pro max review come?

    HARI PALATHARI PALATMonth ago
  • Damnit i miss when cnet was led by Molly Wood and Brian Tong.

    Tai Mai-ShuTai Mai-ShuMonth ago
  • Sorry, is this a review or an advert?

    Chesnut DChesnut DMonth ago
  • I live in the same town you tested 5G in thanks for telling me how 5G is in my area 🤣

    Luke PruscinoLuke PruscinoMonth ago
  • Just like Apple consumers, has no idea any other company or product exists.

    Ninfreak95Ninfreak95Month ago
  • OMG,, it look so beautiful.. Just got my iPhone12 pro through *_Alvinshyper40_* on !nstagram.. I wasn't expecting it to work but it did. Thanks so much *Alvinshyper40* , DM him now to hack any apple product of your choice. He's a life saver

    Vanessa NigleyVanessa NigleyMonth ago
  • Look so beautiful.. Just got my iPhone12 pro through *_Alvinshyper40_* on !nstagram.. I wasn't expecting it to work but it did. Thanks so much *Alvinshyper40* , DM him now to hack any apple product of your choice. He's a life saver

    Vanessa NigleyVanessa NigleyMonth ago
  • Who else is watching this on their iPhone 12

    Gabriel SanvictoresGabriel SanvictoresMonth ago
  • Sounds like a pretty biased and payed review. Can't understand why people don't complain about the huge notch, instead they keep praising the amazing and totally innovative 5G feature.

    ErnieErnieMonth ago
  • why so scripted? why cant people just talk like a human

    zebble ganubizebble ganubiMonth ago
  • Smart data = limiting your 5g coverage :( .

    mikldudemikldudeMonth ago
  • I'm not saying iphone 12 is bad or anything, but this dude is definitely an Apple fanboy and it makes this review super annoying and unreliable. He acts this way in all of his iphone vs android comparisons as well it seems.

    Bry AlrightyBry AlrightyMonth ago
  • Why is no one talking about 120hz screen? What a let down

    Jack ShephardJack ShephardMonth ago
  • its just another boring iphone

    Vladimir DVladimir DMonth ago
  • I don’t wanna give up my XS because I love force touch

    MichaelMichaelMonth ago
  • I have 180mb on lte so the first thing I'm going to do is turn off 5g.

    Ciprian GeorgiuCiprian GeorgiuMonth ago
  • This is just one long apple commerical

    pantsuck11pantsuck11Month ago
  • I love my 11pro. However, how does the reviewer bring up the lack of headphones and power adapter and then immediately starts talking about mag safe?!?!?! My dude, you need to criticize Apple on the lack of headphones and power adapter, this makes you look biased.

    Kevin RosalesKevin RosalesMonth ago
  • I phone always play hard to get so I went to Samsung get note 20

    phuong dophuong doMonth ago
  • Have an iPhone 11 Pro - feel no desire to upgrade until the notch is gone and 120Hz arrives.

    Clayton HumphreyClayton HumphreyMonth ago
  • 5:50 yooo I live in Greenville

    Jacob CreeJacob CreeMonth ago
    • Nice pictures of downtown!

      Jacob CreeJacob CreeMonth ago
  • Going back 14 years to the old 4 - 5 strait edge look???? Lame!!!!!

    gustavo garciagustavo garciaMonth ago
  • Blatant advert that just devalues every other review from cnet.

    Foxtrot AlphaFoxtrot AlphaMonth ago
  • I purchased the Gold iPhone12 Pro. So far I don’t notice that much difference than iphoneX but a friend thought my call voice was clearer. And a low light photo came out well. I don’t see 5G on my phone. I don’t know if it’s because I’m using my iPhoneX SIM card with Verizon or my location

    Troy JacksonTroy JacksonMonth ago
  • What would you recommend leaving it on auto 5G or leaving 5G on? If it drops to lte will it show

    Blaine HermreckBlaine HermreckMonth ago
  • Why are the I phones stuck on just 12 megapixel cameras for years .

    Arif RamzanArif RamzanMonth ago
  • This is the most CNET review I’ve seen CNET do

    YeehawYeehawMonth ago
  • I love my 12

    Mobius DickMobius DickMonth ago
  • He actually likes the mag safe wallet? 🤔

    NANG’S GARAGENANG’S GARAGEMonth ago
  • I get 209 Mbps download and 22.5 Mbps upload on T-Mobile LTE where I live, those speeds that you are getting on 5G are slower! On an iPhone XS Max!

    Michael ChristenburyMichael ChristenburyMonth ago
  • I"ve decided to get the 12 pro. Why you ask well as the current owner of a 10 R which I have been for the most part satisfied and love it's size and shape I wish it had more power and a alot better camera so that's why I want the 12 Pro with ability to go up to 256 gigs instead of my current 128 which I have used up already real quick with photos , music, games, and docs for work.

    michael kaganmichael kaganMonth ago
  • Pro, but for one thing people don't talk about enough... RAM. It has 6GB which is 50% higher than the non-PRO. That's going to come in handy if not now then in the future.

    Mathew AndersonMathew AndersonMonth ago
  • I have a S20 Ultra atm but for some crazy reason I decided to buy a 12 pro aswell 🙈 guess that lovely Pacific blue swayed me lol

    Rob WrightRob WrightMonth ago
  • Watching from my Samsung A20.😭

    Supreme LeaderSupreme LeaderMonth ago
  • Go to Best Buy and you will see the iPhone 12 display

    MambaMambaMonth ago
  • Sweet mask, sheep.

    AaronAaronMonth ago
  • *Wow wow wow.. Just got my iPhone 12 pro rn through _Alvinshyper40_ on Instagram. I'm so excited. Thanks so much@Alvinshyper40

    Vanessa NigleyVanessa NigleyMonth ago
  • It’s crazy the amount of people hating on this review 😂 You can’t say an iPhone is good without people claiming it’s an advert and being paid off by Apple. Ever considered it’s maybe because the phone itself is a great product? Can’t wait for my 12 Pro Max 😃

    Yes NoYes NoMonth ago
  • Without a 90hz or 120hz display, not worth the upgrade. Playing games on my 11pro max has nothing on my note 20 ultra.

    James ReevesJames ReevesMonth ago
  • why shiny sides with matt back on the 12 pro ? and matt finish sides with shiny back on 12 ? I would love the the matt side on the 12 pro with matte back

    mister kkmister kkMonth ago
    • Yes that thought came to me as well , the shiny bits are going to filthy with finger prints in seconds .

      mikldudemikldudeMonth ago
  • The words "Extraordinary" and "Outstanding" is being thrown around a lot on this phone... i mean yeah no doubt its a great phone but i'm not really convinced that its a must buy when comparing with... lets say, an iphone XS. it's nothing groundbreaking yet...

    theiviaster2theiviaster2Month ago
  • Ill wait for the iphone 15

    Mark ShoneMark ShoneMonth ago
  • Do you buy the charge and ear plugs separate

    O OO OMonth ago
  • I wish there was real reviewers that gave you unbiased reviews

    Techie RGTechie RGMonth ago
  • usless phone 12. and such a boring video

    Tushar SardaTushar SardaMonth ago
  • Cool 5g... still 5 years away from being useful No 120- apple still behind the curve Smart battery thing- Samsung already has it Keep going? Why am I supposed to buy this again? O thats right because we're Americans and constantly need newer newer newer

    813johnnfla813johnnflaMonth ago
  • They wanna save the environment by selling the type C adopter separately....in another box 🥴

    Social Media JunkiesSocial Media JunkiesMonth ago
  • android users are always so salty lol

    miracle manmiracle manMonth ago
  • Sounded more like a salesman than a reviewer to me.

    RawandiRawandiMonth ago
  • How were you playing paper Mario?

    Wolf ClawWolf ClawMonth ago
  • Why is the 12 benching higher than the 12 pro???

    N. R. RohdeN. R. RohdeMonth ago
  • Eyes on the mini 12. No other one interested me

    Rui AbreuRui AbreuMonth ago
  • They are simply alright simply expensive.

    Dirk DigglerDirk DigglerMonth ago
  • “They both have the same size” hum that’s not English

    Bunglebush BunglebushBunglebush BunglebushMonth ago
  • I LOVE THIS PHONE! iPhone is beautifuhl again!

    kimmirossi46kimmirossi46Month ago
  • Android users be so mad right now 😂

    lux2007lux2007Month ago
  • 13 minute iPhone ad hu?

    abcorr88abcorr88Month ago
  • Don’t even comment if you have an android with green bubbles just disgusting 🤮🤮🤮

    victor lopezvictor lopezMonth ago
  • Clean your phone before taking pictures🙄

    Movie clipsMovie clipsMonth ago
  • Two things I noticed. He looks high. His eyes are red. He’s in Townson Maryland. I noticed that intersection. 🤔

    Mr. BlocksMr. BlocksMonth ago
  • Wu-Tang!

    ParteumParteumMonth ago
  • Why is everything so dirty? The phones are dirty, your tables is dirty. It’s gross.

    Ryan PetersonRyan PetersonMonth ago
  • 6:49 seems that there is not so much difference with that ceramic coating.

    vidalricavidalricaMonth ago
  • His English is so awkward

    DavidDavidMonth ago
  • iPhone 12 pro do Does it have real gold paint

    old mixold mixMonth ago
  • Judge the size of the 12 Max if you’ve never had a Max b4. Can you maneuver with it well? 12 Pro is a nice compromise

    TLTLMonth ago
  • Simply: CNET sold-out to their iPhone sponsor.

    ArminArminMonth ago
USworlds